RSS

Upload File Excel Problem on CodeIgniter 2.1.2

20 Jun
Upload File Excel Problem on CodeIgniter 2.1.2

I’m really desperate with this one. Maybe you have the same problem with me? Ok, let’s digging.

As you know, CodeIgniter has it’s own library for uploading files, named File Uploading Class and you may call the library on the Controller with $this->load->library('upload') or $this->load->library('upload', $config) with predefined $config. Or you can just autoload it on the config as well.

Using CodeIgniter 2.1.2, I found several bugs for this Class. Bugs? I’m not sure if this is a bug or I just being dumb. So, this annoying bug is about uploading Excel formatted file (.xls, .xlsx).

This is my code on the Controller

$config['allowed_types'] = 'gif|jpeg|jpg|png';
$config['max_size'] = '350';
$config['upload_path'] = './uploads/images';
$config['overwrite'] = TRUE;
$this->load->library('upload', $config);
$config['file_name'] = 'xxx';
$this->upload->initialize($config);
~~do image uploading here...then

$config['file_name'] = 'yyy';
$config['allowed_types'] = 'xlsx|xls|csv';
$this->upload->initialize($config);
~~do the excel file uploading here...

Open the web, upload the excel file (yes, I’m really sure I upload the ‘.xls’ file, with size around 50kB), and tada… this error came out gently

The filetype you are attempting to upload is not allowed.

… rescan my code… feels like there is nothing wrong with it. Oh yeah, I do upload the image file and it’s running well.

So, as the Google-enabled-programmer I google about this. And googling about CodeIgniter 2.x is quite difficult, but I often find the result for CodeIgniter 1.7.x. At least, I found 2-3 solutions for this (I said solution because many of them said it works), but they all said about mime types.

So, as they said I change the mimes.php on the application/config/ folder. Changing the line number 32 from

'xls' => array('application/excel', 'application/vnd.ms-excel', 'application/msexcel')

to this

'xls' => array('application/octet-stream', 'application/excel', 'application/vnd.ms-excel', 'application/msexcel')

As you can see, I just add the ‘application/octet-stream’ type for ‘xls’, because somehow ‘xls’ mimy-type read as it……. and then, it’s still failed, with the same error message .

I’m not giving up. Haha. Ok, try to see the consists of upload data with $this->upload->data() and print_r the $_FILES and find this file_type from upload data “cdf v2 document, corrupt: can’t expand summary_info”. I don’t know it’s mean. Just knowing that it’s not as suppose to be one of the array mime type above. So, then I edit the Upload.php on the system file. Please, don’t try to do this. It’s really cheating and danger. But, it works. Hahaha. on function is_allowed_filetype() line 584, I insert this code on line 624.

if (is_array($mime))
{
if ($this->file_type == "cdf v2 document, corrupt: can't expand summary_info")
$this->file_type = "application/octet-stream";

if (in_array($this->file_type, $mime, TRUE))
{
return TRUE;
}
}

See. It’s really cheating. So, please… if you know better solution than above, please do not hesitate to leave comments.

_rd_

~Featured image get from bezambee.com
~Emoticon stealed from kaskus.co.id

 
8 Comments

Posted by on Jun 20, 2013 in Techonology

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

8 responses to “Upload File Excel Problem on CodeIgniter 2.1.2

  1. Kabir Hossain

    May 10, 2014 at 18:55

    You can use normal php for uploading excel file or other types of file.

     
  2. win mar

    Jul 7, 2014 at 16:43

    I use codigniter 2.4 version . When I upload excel file with CI,I am ok. as you say, i changed only mime types .it is ok to upload file. thank you…

     
    • Ardi

      Jul 16, 2014 at 03:15

      I don’t know, the mime-type of .xls type somehow broken (especially from non ms.Excel application), not the appropriate one.

      There’s another way to upload. With ajax if you don’t mind with html5. Maybe I’ll write about it later🙂

       
  3. Enrique Becerra

    Apr 15, 2015 at 02:24

    I’m having the same problem while trying to upload spreadsheets with CodeIgniter. This has not been solved in the latest CI version. The spreadsheets are not corrupt. They just had been generated (I guess with PHPExcel) in some way the mime sh…. can’t recognize it correctly. I hope I could force the upload anyway, but got no luck, just had to set $config[“allowed_types”] = ‘*’ for the upload to work, which is not good and forces me to write more code to check file extensions and redirect user to an error page, etc.

     
    • Ardi

      May 14, 2015 at 13:23

      I’m still using CI version 2, and this just a hack. For now, I’m uploading a file using AJAX. Haha😀

       
  4. ardyan

    May 5, 2015 at 00:22

    genius, haha

     
  5. roy samuel

    Sep 6, 2016 at 13:36

    thanks for the inspiration…

    how about xlsx extension…

    can be the same way or what??

     
    • Ardi

      Sep 6, 2016 at 13:41

      Yes it may.. Time goes on, another idea you may check the mime type on the client side.

       

Leave a Reply

 
